Eugene and Carolyn Shoemaker Impact Cratering Award

Application deadline:  August 2024 (application will open April 1, 2024)

The Eugene and Carolyn Impact Cratering Award is for undergraduate or graduate students, of any nationality, working in any country, in the disciplines of geology, geophysics, geochemistry, astronomy, or biology. The award, which will include $3000, is to be applied for the study of impact craters, either on Earth or on the other solid bodies in the solar system. Areas of study may include but shall not necessarily be limited to impact cratering processes; the bodies (asteroidal or cometary) that make the impacts; or the geological, chemical, or biological results of impact cratering.

» Details about the award and application materials

Past Awardees

Year Name Institution
2023 Nicolas S. Anderson   California Institute of Technology
2022 Emily Bamber   University of Texas, Austin
2021 Michaela Dobson   University of Auckland, New Zealand
2020 Hiu Ching Jupiter Cheng   University of Georgia
2019 Samantha Nicole Griffin   University of Glasgow
2018 Pim Kaskes   Vrije Universiteit Brussel (Belgium)
2017 Maree McGregor   University of New Brunswick (Canada)
2016 Morgan Cox   Curtin University (Australia)
2015 James Keane   University of Arizona
2014 Patrick Boehnke   University of California, Los Angeles
2013 Michael Zanetti   Washington University in St. Louis
2012 Cameron M. Mercer   Arizona State University
2011 Olivia Thomson   University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
2010 Timmons Erickson   University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez
2009 Matthew Wielicki   University of California, Los Angeles
2008 James Darling   University of Bristol, United Kingdom
2007 Jillian A. Hudgins   University of New Brunswick
2006 Vishnu Reddy   University of North Dakota
2005 Johanna Kieniewicz   Washington University
2004 No awardee  
2003 Charlotte Pearce   Open University, United Kingdom
2002 Ann Bäckström   Kungl Tekniska Högskolan, Stockholm, Sweden
  (trans. Royal Institute of Technology)
2001 Francis D. Winslow III   State University of New York, Stony Brook
2000 Gordon R. Osinski   University of New Brunswick
1999 Susanna L. Widicus   Illinois Wesleyan University