Schwartz Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Education

Franklin W. Schwartz

New Award

The Hydrogeology Division of the Geological Society of America invites nominations for the Schwartz Award. This award will be first time presented in 2023 for Excellence in Mentoring and Education and honors noted American hydrogeologist Franklin W. Schwartz. 

The Schwartz Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Education will be considered annually in accordance with the bylaws of the Society. The award will be made to an individual (not multiple or group awardees) in recognition of distinguished personal service to the hydrogeology profession and to the Hydrogeology Division with respect to mentoring and education.

How To Nominate

The recipient must be a member of the Hydrogeology Division and have not previously received the award.
For more information about Rules and Regulations click here: Rules and Regulations

Nominations should include:

A letter of nomination that describes the distinguished service in Mentoring and Education that warrants the nomination. Supporting letters are helpful but not required.

If you know of a deserving scientist, please consider being a nominator.  It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that the application is complete by the deadline.  The application package should be sent to

Submission Deadline

A complete nomination package must be received by February 1.