Kohout Early Career Award

Presentation of the 2022 Kohout Early Career Award to Sam Zipper (middle) by Yu-Feng F. Lin (left) and Steven P. Loheide (right).

The Award

The Hydrogeology Division of the Geological Society of America invites nominations for the Kohout Early Career Award.  This is a new award that was generously endowed by the estate of Francis Kohout, an early pioneer in the study of geothermal salt water convection in carbonate platforms.  The award will be presented to a distinguished early career scientist (35 years of age or younger throughout the year in which the award is to be presented or within 5 years of receiving their highest degree or diploma) for outstanding achievement in contributing to the hydrogeologic profession through original research and service, and for the demonstrated potential for continued excellence throughout their career.  The nominee does not have to be a member of GSA or hold a PhD.  Nominations are encouraged from any subdiscipline in hydrogeology.

How To Nominate

The elements of a nomination package are:

1) At least one letter of nomination with a description of the significant contributions or accomplishments;

2) A copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae with complete bibliography; and

3) At least four supporting letters.

If you know of a deserving early career scientist, please consider being a nominator.  It is the responsibility of the nominator to ensure that the application is complete by the deadline.  The application package should be sent to gsa.hydro.nominations@gmail.com

Submission Deadline

A complete nomination package must be received by February 1.

Award Recipients

Click on the recipient name to see the a PDF file of the original published citation and response.

Award Year Recipients  Institution
 2022 Sam Zipper  Kansas Geological Survey
 2021 No award  No award
 2020  Christa A. Kelleher  Syracuse University, New York
 2019  Barret L. Kurylyk  Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS
 2018  Scott Jasechko   University of California at Santa Barbara
 2017  Martin Briggs  USGS
 2016  Audrey H. Sawyer  Ohio State University
 2015  Michael Cardiff  University of Wisconsin-Madison
 2014  Peter S.K. Knappett  Texas A&M University
 2013  Laurel G. Larsen  The University of California Berkeley
 2012  Bayani Cardenas  The University of Texas at Austin