We are pleased to announce that Cynthia Palomares will be the 2023-2024 Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer! To find out more about Cynthia's lecture topics and how to contact Cynthia to schedule a talk, check out the Jahns Lecturer webpage.

Congratulations to the 2023-2024 EEGD Management Board

  • Chair: Francis Rengers - U.S. Geological Survey
  • First Vice-Chair: Ann Youberg - Arizona Geological Survey
  • Second Vice-Chair: W. Paul Burgess - California Geological Survey
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Luke McGuire - University of Arizona
  • Student Representative: Pham Minh Ngoc (Alicia) Nguyen - Washington and Lee University
  • Thanks to our Past Chair, Arpita Nandi (East Tennessee State University) for her dedication to the Division over the past four years!
  • Thanks to our past Student Representative, Kathryn Smith (Dalhousie University) for her dedication to the Division!

Congratulations to the 2023 EEGD Award Winners

  • Distinguished Practice: no nominations
  • Meritorious Service: Thomas Oommen - University of Mississippi
  • E.B. Burwell Award: Syed E. Hasan Hasan, Syed. E. (2022) Introduction to Waste Management: A Textbook, 1st edition, John Wiley & Sons (New York), pp. 464
  • Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lectureship: Cynthia Palomares - Texas Engineering Extension Service, Texas A&M University- emeritus)
  • Student award: Shelmon Scholarship and Meeting Awards –
    • Scholarship: Raja Das, North Carolina State
    • Scholarship: Gonzalo Ronda, Colorado School of Mines
    • Scholarship: Megan Palmer, East Tennessee State University
    • Scholarship: Robert McSweeney, East Tennessee State University
    • Meeting: Janki Patel, University of Auckland
    • Meeting: Mikaela Anthony, Villanova University
    • Meeting: Emma Spangler, Villanova University

EEGD is seeking nominations for the following awards (submission deadlines are in parentheses). Visit the Awards page for information on the awards and the nomination process:

    • Richard H Jahns Distinguished Lecturer (31 January)
    • E.B. Burwell, Jr. Award (1 February)
    • Roy J. Shlemon Student Scholarship Award (EXTENDED to 30 April)
    • Roy J. Shlemon Student Meeting Award (one month before meeting)
    • Distinguished Practice Award (31 March)
    • EEGD Meritorious Service Award (31 March)



  Blog   Follow Us on Twitter   Find Us on Facebook   Join Us on LinkedIn   Find Us on YouTube