Richard Hay Award

2024 application deadline: 
August 16th.


The Richard Hay Award is a travel grant awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student presenting a paper or poster in geoarchaeology at the annual GSA meeting. This student travel award honors Richard Hay, a long-standing member of the Geoarchaeology Division with a long and distinguished career in sedimentary geology, mineralogy, and archaeological geology. He is particularly well-known for his work at the Olduvai Gorge and Laetoli hominin-bearing sites and was awarded the Division's Rip Rapp award in 2000. 


The Richard Hay Award is competitive; the Geoarchaeology Division Awards Committee selects recipients based on the scientific merit of their research topic and the clarity of their expanded paper or poster abstract. Applicants must submit their abstract to GSA by the deadline and be presenting their paper or poster in one of the Division's sessions at the annual meeting.

Materials & Information:

The application and reference forms must be emailed as attachments to You and your reference writer will receive automatic confirmations after submitting application materials.

For more information contact

Past Recipients of the Richard Hay Student Paper/Poster Award

2022 Byron Smith, U. of Texas at Austin 
2019 Cayla Kennedy, Utah State U. &
Caitlin Rankin, Washington U. in St Louis
2017 Anisha Dongol, Earlham College &
Jacquelynn Miller, U. Maine-Orono
2016 Michael Aiuvalasit, Southern Methodist U.
2015 Alexander Brittingham, U. of Connecticut
2014 Emily J. Bevery, Baylor U.
2013 Anna Wieser, U. of Kansas
2012 Kevin Coffey, U. of California-Los Angeles
2011 Gary Stinchcomb, Baylor U. &
Michele Stillinger, U. of Minnesota
2010 Andrew Kowler, U. of Arizona &
Jeremias Pink, Idaho State U.
2009 Tabitha Griffith, New Mexico State U. &
Aislinn Deely, Robert F. Kennedy Science Research Institute
2008 Kevin Jones, U. of Arizona
2007 Laura R. Murphy, U. of Kansas
2004 Elizabeth Robertson, U. of Calgary
2003 Sidney Carter, Stanford U.
1999 Janet Van Dyke, U. of Illinois
1998 William J. Chadwick, U. of Delaware
1997 Elisabeth Miksa, U. of Arizona
1995 Andrew Ivester, U. of Georgia
1994 Elisabeth Miksa, Desert Archeaology
1993 David D. Kuehn, Texas A&M U.
1992 Sheena K. Beaverson, U. of Minnesota
1990 Rinata A. Dalan, U. of Minnesota &
Angela R. Linse, U. of Washington &
Brain Hansen, U. of Texas 
1989 Tina Niemi, Stanford U.