Claude C. Albritton, Jr. Award

2024 application deadline:
April 15th.


The Albritton Award Fund provides scholarships and fellowships for graduate students in the Earth sciences and archaeology for research. Recipients of the award are students who have (1) an interest in achieving a Master's or Ph.D. in Earth sciences or archaeology; (2) an interest in applying Earth science methods to archaeological research; and (3) an interest in a career in teaching and academic research. Awards in the amount of $650 are given in support of thesis or dissertation research, with emphasis on the field and/or laboratory aspects of the research.

Materials & Information:

The application and reference forms must be emailed as attachments to You and your reference writer will receive automatic confirmations after submitting application materials.

For more information contact

Recipients of the Claude C. Albritton, Jr. Award

2022 Tristan Bench, U. of Washington
Alyssa Pietraszek, U. of Haifa
2021 Benjamin Deans, Central Washington U.
2020 Jiun-Yu Liu, U. of Washington &
Megan Plummer, Washington State U.
2019 Miriam Rothenberg, Brown U. &
Adam J. White, U. of California-Berkeley
2018 Katelyn McDonough, Texas A&M U. &
Michael Grooms, U. of New Mexico
2017 Leila Donn, U. of Texas-Austin
2016 Justin A. Holcomb, Boston U.
2015 Rachel Cajigas, U. of Arizona
2014 Brendan S. Fenerty, Indiana U.
2013 Andrea (Ellie) Maniery, U. of Reno
2012 Jill Onken, U. of Arizona
2011 Fumie Iizuka, U. of Arizona &
Cynthia Bradbury, Boise State U.
2009 Peter Lanzarone, U. of Georgia &
Howard Cyr, U. of Calgary
2008 Kurt Rademaker, U. of Maine
2007 Katie Adelsberger, Washington U. in St. Louis &
Cynthia Fadem, Washington U. in St. Louis
2006 Elizabeth Sonnerberg, McMaster U.
2005 Collin Cooke, U. of Pittsburgh
2004 Marjorie Heyman, Michigan State U.
2003 Matthew Leavesley, Australian National U.
2002 Sidney Carter, Stanford U. &
Jenny A. Bennett, U. of Exeter
2001 Heidi Luchsinger, Texas A&M U. &
E. Christian Wells, Arizona State U.
1999 Jennifer Smith, University of Pennsylvania
1998 Sarah C. Sherwood, University of Tennessee
1997 Jason A. Rech, University of Arizona