GSA SGD Awards Overview

Recognizing the advancments and contributions in Sedimentary Geology 

The Sedimentary Geology Division administers several awards:

  • Laurence L. Sloss Award: Recognizes the lifetime and career achievements that contribute widely to the field of sedimentary geology and service to the Geological Society of America
  • Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award: Promotes research combining structural geology and diagenesis, and curriculum development in structural diagenesis
  • Sedimentary Geology Division Student Research Award: awarded to an outstanding student grant proposal in the field of sedimentary geology and stratigraphy selected by the Geological Society of America Committee on Research Grants from the applications submitted annually to the GSA Research Grants Program.
  • Student Research Poster Competition: awarded to student authors of posters presented in the SEPM-GSA Sedimentary Geology division poster session at the GSA Connects annual meeting.

Nominate your colleague or yourself or apply for one of these awards!