Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award

The Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award promotes application of interdisciplinary techniques used in the fields of structural geology and sedimentary petrology, as exemplified by the work of Dr. Stephen Laubach, including research combining structural geology and diagenesis, and curriculum development in structural diagenesis. This could include studies of fracturing, cement precipitation and dissolution, evolving rock mechanical properties and other structural diagenetic processes that can govern recovery of resources and sequestration of material in deeply buried, diagenetically altered and fractured sedimentary rocks. The award is jointly administered by the Sedimentary Geology and Structural Geology & Tectonics Divisions of the Geological Society of America. For 2023, we anticipate one award of $2,500. Graduate students, postgraduate and faculty of any level are eligible to apply.

Application instructions:

Submit a completed application document as a single PDF file (<10 MB) by May 1, 2024.

All applicants will be required to affirm their adherence to GSA's Code of Conduct in order to be considered for the award. 

If you have questions regarding this award or the application, please contact Owen Callahan (, Chair of the 2024 Laubach Award committee, or Andrew Zuza (, 2nd Vice Chair of the Structural Geology and Tectonics Division.

The single PDF application document should include:

  1.  A title page including
    • Name
    • Mailing Address
    • Email
    • Positon (MS, PhD, postdoc, Assist. Prof, Assoc. Prof, Prof)
    • Academic Institution
    • Other agencies that (i) have supported this project; (ii) are supporting this project; or (iii) are being applied to. Include title, dates, and level of support
    • Project title
    • BRIEF justification explaining how this proposal fits the purpose of the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Award (<100 words)
  2.  Proposal body
    • Document must be <5 pages in 12pt font, double-spaced text (excluding references and figures)
    • Includes an Abstract of proposed work (<250 words)
  3.  Up-to-date, abridged curriculum vitae (< 2 pages)
  4.  Proposed budget page (we anticipate one award of $2500)

Past Awardees

2023 - Sarah Giles

2020 - Leonardo Del Sole

2019 - Kayla Smith

2018 - Dr. William T. Jackson, Jr

2017 - Victoria Igoe

2016 - Sebastian Cardona

2015 - Austin Boles

2014 - Randolph Williams

2013 - Peter Moseley

2012 - Erika Swanson

2011 - Veerle Vandeginste

2010 - Christopher Thissen

Honorable Mention: 2015 - Nicholas Williams

Above: Study site of 2020 Laubach winner Leonardo del Sole, who studied deformation band diagenesis in the Apennine Mountains of Italy.