Laubach Research Award

Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award
(Application deadline May 1st 2023)

The Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award promotes research combining structural geology and diagenesis, and curriculum development in structural diagenesis. To help promote the cross disciplinary emphasis of this annual award, the Sedimentary Geology and Structural Geology & Tectonics Divisions have been designated to jointly select the recipient. The award alternates between being awarded by the Sedimentary Geology Division and Structural Geology & Tectonics Division.

Graduate students, postgraduate researchers and faculty are eligible.

This award supports studies of fracturing and the diagenetic processes, such as cement precipitation and dissolution, that govern the geomechanical evolution of diagenetically-altered fractured sedimentary rocks. The award highlights interdisciplinary techniques in structural geology and sedimentary petrology, and their applications in recovery of resources and sequestration of material in sedimentary basins.

For more information for the 2023 award, please see the Sedimentary Division award page.

Application Instructions for the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diageneis Research Award

Your completed application should include:

  1.  A title page with the information listed below
  2.  <5 page double spaced proposal (excluding references and figures)
  3.  Recent curriculum vitae (< 2 pages)
  4.  Proposed budget page (normally award is $2500)

Information for the title page:

  1. Name
  2. Mailing Address
  3. Email
  4. Position (MS, PhD, postdoc, Assist. Prof, Assoc. Prof, Prof)
  5. Academic Institution
  6. 6. Other agencies that: (i) have supported this project; (ii) are supporting this project; or (iii) are being applied to. Include title, dates and level of support
  7. Project title
  8. Justification: Explain how this proposal fits the purpose of the Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Award (<100 words)
  9. Abstract of proposed work (<250 words)

To apply, please visit the following link:

Previous Awardees:


No awardee


No awardee


Leonardo Del Sole (PhD student)
Università di Bologna


Kayla Smith (MS student)
Utah State University


Dr. William T. Jackson, Jr
University of South Alabama


Victoria Igoe
University of Wisconsin-Madison


Sebastian Cardona
Colorado School of Mines


Austin Boles
University of Michigan


Randolph Williams
University of Wisconsin - Madison


Peter Mozley
New Mexico Tech - Socorro


Erika Swanson (PhD student)


Dr. Veerle Vandeginste (postdoctoral researcher)
Imperial College, London


Christopher Thissen (PhD Candidate)
Yale University