History and Philosophy of Geology Student Award

The History and Philosophy of Geology Division Geology Student Award is a travel grant awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student presenting a paper or poster at the annual GSA meeting. The award is $1000 for a paper to be presented at the national GSA meeting. For 2024 the deadline for submission of an accepted abstract and application materials to the Division is 9 August.

This award, established in 2004, is made possible by a bequest from the estate of Mary C. Rabbitt. While both oral and poster presentations are acceptable, oral presentations are preferred. Faculty advisors may be listed as second author, but not as the lead author of the paper. The proposed paper may be: (1) A paper in the history or philosophy of geology; or (2) A literature review of ideas for a technical work or thesis/dissertation; or (3) Some imaginative aspect of the history or philosophy of geology we have not thought of before.

The award is open to all students regardless of discipline, provided the proposed paper is related to the history or philosophy of a geological idea, person, etc. Applications are required to include an accepted abstract of a presentation to be made at the annual meeting.  After the applications have been received and reviewed by the Awards Committee, the winner will be notified. The $1000 award will be presented at the annual GSA meeting. If there are multiple authors, the monetary award will be presented to the senior author and further distribution is up to that person.

Link to instructions and documents

Deadline to apply: August 9

If there are any additional questions about the award, please contact
Christopher L Hill, Secretary-Treasurer
History and Philosophy of Geology Division, GSA

Former Student Awardees

2004 Michael C. Rygel
2005 Lee J. Florea
2006 Alistair Sponsel 
2007 Eric J. Brown
2008 Beth A. Johnson and Jamie Stephenson
2009 Michael Bramnik
2010 Amanda Finnen Waters
2011 Margaret Rosenburg - citation and abstract 
2012 no award
2013 Isabel Fay (1st), Ian J. Renfrew (2nd), Carolina Gustafson (2nd) - citation

2014 Ashley Inglehart (1st), Stacy Phillips (2nd) - citations
2015 John Sime - citation
2016 no award
2017 no award
2018 Gustave Lester - citation
2019 Richard Vachula
2020 Claire Sabel