Shroder Award

About the Shroder Award

The Shroder Mass Movement Award was established in 2016 to support research grants to graduate students working on their thesis or dissertation in the field of mass movement. The first award was given in 2022.

How to apply

Applications are done via the student research grant program run by GSA. Any research grant application that has “Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology” selected as the General Field of Research Project will be automatically eligible for consideration for our awards.  PLEASE NOTE that a single application can be simultaneously considered for multiple awards.


Applications are due February 1 of each year.

Shroder Award Winners


2023 Okedoyin Omololu, Western Washington University. Quantifying the carbon sink of woody debris in submarine fans: an example from the Nitinat Fan in the Cascadia margin.

2022 Telemak Olsen, Western Washington University. Quantifying channel change in response to post-fire debris flows in a steep, coastal stream in Big Sur, California.