Denton, Andrews, Porter Glacial Geology Award

Denton, Andrews, Porter Glacial Geology Award

The Denton, Andrews, Porter Glacial Geology Award was established in 2020 in honor of the initial primary donor’s academic advisors: George H. Denton, John T. Andrews, and Stephen C. Porter.

Support is provided for graduate or undergraduate research in the areas of glacial geology, including glaciology, glacial geomorphology, glacial chronology, or a related field, such as paleoclimatology or climate change.

How to Apply for the DAP Glacial Geology Award

Applications are done via the student research grant program run by GSA. Any research grant application that has “Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology” selected as the General Field of Research Project will be automatically eligible for consideration for our awards.  PLEASE NOTE that a single application can be simultaneously considered for multiple awards.


Applications are due February 1 of each year.

Recipients of the DAP Glacial Geology Award


2023 Kurt Lindberg, University of Buffalo. Reconstructing vegetation and biomass changes around a southern Baffin Island lake in response to Holocene shrub colonization. 

2022 Victoria Halvorson, Dartmouth College. Constraining the timing of deglacial warming in Costa Rica.

2021 (two awards given)

  • Tristan Bench, PhD, Univ. of Washington. Applications of an in-situ optical surface exposure dating technique on glacial erratic quartzites from the Foothills Erratics Train.
  • Rachel Clark, PhD, University of Houston. Reconstructing Holocene changes of Thwaites Glacier, West Antarctica, using detailed facies analyses of marine sediment cores

2020 Gryphen Goss, University of Calgary, for the proposal Fluvial response to climate change-induced stream capture, Yukon, Canada