Distinguished Service

Distinguished Service Award

When appropriate, the Energy Geology Division recognizes the volunteered contributions of its members, who have served to promote the Division and its various functions. Past Distinguished Service Award winners are listed below.

Members are encouraged to submit names for this award, anytime through the year, in time to be ratified by the Officers and for the award to be presented at the fall GSA Annual Meeting, Energy Geology Division Business Meeting. Submissions may be made to any member of the Energy Geology Division Executive.

Past Recipients

  • 2007 Stephen Greb
  • 2002 Thomas Demchuk
  • 1997 James C. Hower, CAER, University of Kentucky
  • 1997 Edward C. Beaumont, New Mexico
  • 1996 Arthur D. Cohen, University of South Carolina
  • 1994 Cortland F. Eble, Kentucky Geological Survey, University of Kentucky
  • 1993 Alex R. Cameron, Geological Survey of Canada
  • 1993 James C. Cobb, Kentucky Geological Survey
  • 1993 Edward R. Landis, United States Geological Survey
  • 1992 Aureal T. Cross, Michigan State University
  • 1992 Frank Kottlowski, New Mexico Bureau of Mines
  • 1992 Samuel Friedman, Oklahoma Geological Survey
  • 1989 Robert Finkleman, United States Geological Survey