Dr. Kaustubh Thirumalai

Kaustubh is an invited speaker for the 2022 GSA Connects Session
T145. Advances and New Voices in Marine and Coastal Geoscience.

What is your current professional role?
Currently I am an assistant professor at the Department of Geosciences, University of Arizona. I teach classes related to climate/geochemistry/oceanography/paleontology & oversee the Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology Laboratory. I greatly enjoy my role in facilitating graduate and undergraduate research. 

What aspects of marine or coastal geoscience do you work on (or have you worked on in the past)?
There are several problems in marine geoscience and paleoceanography that our research group and I are currently working on; major themes include the past and future impact of Indian monsoon variability on northern Indian oceanography, coupling between equatorial ocean dynamics and sea-surface temperature fluctuations, low-latitude variability of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation, and calibrations of various foraminiferal geochemical techniques in marginal seas.

How did you first become interested in science?