Katya Beener

What is your current professional role?
I currently work as a physical science technician for the USGS Earthquake Science Center, and as a lab technician at CSUF Coastal and Marine Geology Lab. In both labs I analyze surface samples and cores collected from beaches and lakes in California to investigate past climatic conditions of the area. I am also a MSc candidate at CSU Fullerton.

What aspects of marine or coastal geoscience do you work on (or have you worked on in the past)?
In general, I study recent changes in sedimentation in coastal areas, usually estuaries and marshes. This includes provenance, texture, water content, composition, accumulation rates, and more. These data allow us to understand how our coasts are changing due to natural climate variability as well as human activities.

How did you first become interested in science?
I always enjoyed science, but never considered a career in it until I was halfway through my undergraduate degree. I took a climate change course, and it was the highlight of my semester. I had never taken a class that I was as excited to go to every single day. Once I realized how much I loved geology and science, the decision to pursue it was easy.

Who have been your greatest mentors?