Dr. Deirdre Ryan

Deirdre is the 2021-2022 chair of the Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division.

What is your current professional role?
I am currently a postdoc at the 

Università di Pisa

Italy. I am part of the interdisciplinary SPHeritage Project (https://spheritage.dst.unipi.it/index.php/en/). My focus is specifically the paleo sea-level and geochronological constraint aspects of the project.

What aspects of marine or coastal geoscience do you work on (or have you worked on in the past)?
My work has been focused on Quaternary sea level fluctuations and associated climatic change. I am also an expert on the geochronological method of amino acid racemization. I have been lucky enough to participate in field work investigating these questions in many countries around the world: Australia, Italy, New Zealand, and the Republic of Cabo Verde.

How did you first become interested in science?
I've been interested in the natural environment for as long as I can remember. I grew up in the country and used to run wild in the hills surrounding the house. One of my favorite books to flip through as a kid was a children's book on Natural History that had great illustrations - I wish I still had that book. My dad was a farmer and for a long time I thought I would end up working in agriculture.

How have been your greatest mentors?
That's kind of a tricky question. I've had 'mentors' for different aspects and periods of my life. I guess the science mentors that come immediately to mind are Colin Murray-Wallace, Robert (Bob) Bourman, and Alessio Rovere. The former two were my PhD supervisors and we continue to collaborate and I continue to learn just simply how to 'science' from them. Alessio was my first postdoc supervisor. We're actually the same age but I started my science career a bit later. I learned a lot from him about the networking, social side of science and also grant writing. We also still collaborate.