Dr. Brandon Dugan

What is your current professional role?

I am a Professor and Associate Department head of Geophysics at the Colorado School of Mines.

What aspects of marine or coastal geoscience do you work on (or have you worked on in the past)?

The two primary areas where I am working are submarine slope failures and their consequences and onshore-offshore coastal freshwater systems. In the slope failure work, we are trying to better understand how slides evolve (e.g., blocky failures, debris flows, turbidity currents) as a function of sediment composition and triggering mechanism (fluid pressure, earthquake shaking, oversteepening). This will improve our risk analysis for conditions that might have tsunami-generating slope failure. In the coastal freshwater work, we are looking at the origin of large offshore freshwater aquifers, how they are connected to onshore aquifer systems, and whether they are active systems or relic systems. This has implications for our ability to use this offshore freshwater as a groundwater resource.

I guess it started with an interest in nature. I spent a lot of time outside as a kid and just loved the outdoors (still do). I became curious about nature and wanted to learn more about it, so was more engaged in my science classes. Then I started taking science electives in high school, and I’m still working on science today – and it’s related to outdoors so I’m pretty lucky.