Patty Standring

Patty is a 2021-2023 student representative for the GSA Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division

What is your professional role?

I am a 2nd-year PhD student studying paleoceanography at the University of Texas at Austin.

What aspects of marine or coastal geoscience do you work on (or have you worked on in the past)?

My current PhD research involves analysis of deep-sea marine sediments from drilling cores and looking for microfossils called foraminifera. Foraminifera (sometimes called forams) are single-celled organisms that live throughout the ocean and are used as paleoclimate and paleoceanographic proxies. Forams make their shells out of calcite from elements in the seawater they live in. After they die, their shells are incorporated into seafloor sediments and preserved creating these tiny little time capsules for ancient ocean conditions. By analyzing the isotopic composition of the shells, we can learn about long-term climate and ocean circulation changes, which helps us predict how the climate and oceans may change in the future as the climate continues to warm. 

For my undergraduate research, I used foraminifera from coastal ecosystems to study how sea level changed in the middle and late Holocene along the Texas coast. Forams are sensitive to changes in ocean temperatures, salinity, and food availability, so as an environment changes in one or all of those parameters, for example from sea-level rise, the foram species living in that environment will change. By looking at changes in foram populations in a sediment core through time, we can determine how the environment changed over time, and infer sea level changes from that.

How did you first become interested in science?