Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award

GSA Structural Geology & Tectonics and Sedimentary Geology  Divisions invite applications for the 2021 Stephen E. Laubach Research Award in Structural Diagenesis, for research related to fluid-rock interaction in the shallow crust.  This year we anticipate granting one award of up to $4000, to be used in support of research activities.  Applications are open to graduate students and researchers of all career stages.  

Application deadline is 3 September 2021. For more information:

To submit an application, visit:

2020 Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award

The Structural Geology and Tectonics Division of GSA had the honor of distributing the jointly-managed Stephen E. Laubach Structural Diagenesis Research Award, which in 2020 went to Leonardo Del Sole, Department of Biological, Geological and Environmental Science for his project at the University of Bologna, “Analytical and numeric experiments to simulate fluids flow and constrain cement precipitation processes with deformation band in porous sandstones”. This award will rotate back to our division reception in the coming year – stay tuned to apply or learn who will take home the award to support their research in 2021!Above: Study site of Laubach winner Leonardo del Sole, who is studying deformation band diagenesis in the Apennine Mountains of Italy.

Past Awardees

2019 - Kayla Smith
2018 - Dr. William T. Jackson, Jr.
2017 - Victoria Igoe 
2016 - Sebastian Cardona
2015 - Austin Boles
2014 - Randolph Williams
2013 - Peter Moseley
2012 - Erika Swanson
2011 - Veerle Vandeginste

2010 - Christopher Thissen

Honorable Mention

2015 - Nicholas Williams