Travel Grants

The Planetary Geology Division (PGD) of the Geological Society of America offers at least 1-2 travel grant(s) in the amount of $500 to help defray costs for PGD student members who are traveling to the GSA Annual Meeting to present first-authored papers.

Deadline to apply for the 2024 Annual Meeting Student Travel Grant:

August 15, 2024

  1. Download and complete the Travel Grant Application Form.
  2. Completed application materials (Travel Grant Form, current CV (2 page maximum) and Short (300-500 word) Justification for why you need travel) should be submitted as a single PDF file to:

Applicants for student travel awards must:

  1. Be first author and presenter of a talk (or poster) that has been specifically submitted to (and accepted for presentation at) the GSA annual meeting.
  2. Be a Student Member of both GSA and the Planetary Geology Division. Click here to join or to renew your membership.
  3. Be registered for the meeting before applying for a travel grant. Click here to register.
  4. Submit a completed Travel Grant Application Form, current CV, and a short justification (~300-500 words) for why travel funding is needed. If you are a co-convener of a session, also give that session's title.

A student can only receive one GSA travel grant per meeting. You will be notified of your application status prior to the annual meeting. Checks will be mailed after the meeting. Travel grant recipients will help staff the PGD booth during the annual meeting.

Past Travel Grant Winners

Award Year Winners Institutions
2023 Leta McCullough
Margaret Deahn
Morgan Lewis
Roodra Manogaran
Alexandra Ostroverkhova
Mississippi State University
Purdue University
University of Tennessee
Louisiana State University
Rutgers University
2021 Jupiter Cheng
Sarah Lamm
Allison Bohanon (Hon Mention)
Rutu Parekh (Hon Mention)
University of Georgia
University of Kansas
Mississippi State University
DLR Planetary Research
2019 Emily Simpson
Anthony Gallagher (Hon Mention)
Sarah Roberts (Hon Mention)
Claire Mondro (Hon Mention)
Allison McGraw (Hon Mention)
Emily Fischer (Hon Mention)
Patrick Cavanagh (GSA Field Trip Grantee)
University of Oklahoma
University of Alaska
University of Tennessee
University of Tennessee
University of Arizona
Texas A&M
Indiana University
2018 Mallory Kinczyk
Laura Fackrell (Hon Mention)
Catherine Hobart (Hon Mention)
Joseph McCarthy (Hon Mention)
North Carolina State University
University of Georgia
Texas A&M University
Mercyhurst University
2017 Kelsey Crane University of Georgia
2016 Melanie Callihan
R. Terik Daly
University of Georgia
Brown University
2015 Anthony Maue
Christina Seeger
Boston University
Williams College
2014 Rebecca Greenberger
Timothy Henderson
Lujendra Ojha
Brown University
Ohio University
Georgia Inst of Technology
2013 Peter Malinski
Jessica A. McBeck
Ohio University
Univ Mass, Amherst
2012 Ryan Jackson
Jessica Watkins
Eastern New Mexico University
University of California, Los Angeles
2011 Robert Jacobsen University of Tennessee, Knoxville
2010 Michael Lucas
Joe Ruffini
University of South Florida
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2009 Sarah Beth Cadieux
Steven Jaret
University of Tennessee
Harvard University
2008 Jane Barnes
Karla Kuebler
Hamilton College
Washington University, St. Louis